Poems, Charms and God’s Vineyard II

Been waiting so long my blood has turned cold and purple

and I feel like a lone chameleon in a fruitless passion.

 

You heard me calling for you, I’m sure you did…

I thought the sweet songs might pique your interest,

but it’s been years and now there’s a clot over the bleed —

the wilted four-leaf clover at the edge of this garden tells all…

the tale of not letting go.

 

All symptoms show a heart at desire’s end,

a passion watered down,

a spirit on its last glow

and a mind bent on letting go…

so I hope this time it’s not all vine and no taters.

 

© Heath Muchena, 2013

Leave a Reply

