life.since.’85 – a prologue

we all wish to tell the story from the very beginning
but the only thing I can truthfully say about the year ’85
is that I knew nothing and so any attempt at telling from memory
the events of that year would be flawed with exaggeration

which naturally comes forth from imagination

but I can safely state – or allude to the fact –
since a fact has to rely on the psychological liability that is time –

and for the sake of saving some… the point I’m trying to make is that I went from taking my first breath to existing and of course living…

but the shift from being a year-old barely conscious of self to self-identification only came after about age four. this was when I had to have my name changed in order to take on father’s last, as if the original birth certificate itself was not already the Capitis Diminutio Maxima, but at his insistent request, I had to – before going to first grade, all this despite him not having been much present from my birth, since mother had left him upon discovering her own self-worth

 

ยฉ Heath Muchena, 2015

4 Comments on “life.since.’85 – a prologue”

  1. milliethom says:

    Interesting look at your early life Heath – or else a fictional version of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I of July says:

    thanks… fiction is today’s reality ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. You have written much since I have seen you on my page. Much well written, I might add, since I have caught up through March. Well, back to checking settings! (:)

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    thank Will ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like


Leave a Reply

