36.5

although poetry should reveal man’s tragedy

it should not be a medium for mere documentation of his suffering

for that is work for the historian

otherwise what’s the point of song if it does not uplift

 

Β© Heath Muchena, 2015

13 Comments on “36.5”

  1. mrapollinax says:

    poetry is meant to show you the doors and windows of the conscience. you get to choose if its uplifting or dragging. it should reveal only what the person reading is feeling, When the doors of perception are cleansed, you will see the world as it is……infinite

    Like

  2. Hannah says:

    Love this! So often art just rehashes the bitterness we already see in life. For art to uplift takes talent, and I believe that’s a high calling. Great job.

    Like

  3. I’m enjoying what you do! And yes – let’s inspire each other, but also let’s cry and laugh and feel all of life together!

    Like

  4. Some seek to raise the hearts of others with beautiful words
    Others drown their sorrows in rivers of negative rhyme

    Like

  5. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    “What good is a song if it can’t inspire, if it has no message to bring, if a song can not take you higher, higher, higher, then it’s not good enough to sing”; do you know that magical Quincey Jones song? I remember loving it when I was a little girl. Thank you for reminding me of it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I of July says:

    that is true. I agree mrapollinax πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    thanks Hannah… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    yes let’s Morning Star Chenven πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. I of July says:

    I love Q.J. I’m definitely going to track it down now Nomzi Kumalo πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. I of July says:

    wish I had thought of that line A Humble Shadow … πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    Fabulous news. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Mary says:

    Fabulous work Heath!

    Like

  13. I of July says:

    thanks Mary πŸ™‚

    Like


Leave a Reply

