the past should never deter, only inspire

Alex G Bell couldn’t have imagined what Martin Cooper would go on to do,
and he too had no idea to what extent Steve Jobs would stretch the technology

so you – the artist – shouldn’t have to compare yourself to a Shakespeare, or worry whether you can outdo a da Vinci,

rather try to figure out how you can improve on the foundation laid before you and create something new with the potential inside you

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

9 Comments on “the past should never deter, only inspire”

  1. I should not bother to say how true that is, but I am going to anyway.TRUE

    Like

  2. Vicky Mould says:

    Yes, what a fabulous title for a post, and I can only agree with it too.

    Like

  3. Wow. My favourite piece of yours that I’ve read so far. So inspiring!

    Like

  4. Kelly-Lynne says:

    Thanks for the great reminder that I am standing on the shoulders of Tennyson, Tolkien, Yeats, C.S.Lewis, Gabeldon…and host of other artists whose work inspires, teaches and motivates me in my own writing!
    Historical Fiction Addicts! (kellylynnereimer.wordpress.com)

    Like

  5. I of July says:

    thanks Vicky

    Like

  6. I of July says:

    huge compliment Yusra… thank you very much 🙂

    Like

  7. This is very insightful. The best things we have to offer the world come out of our uniqueness. 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    So glad you feel that way, thank you 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

