mind manger

as I laid in bed, in darkness, with my eyes shut

I still saw a bright calcium-orange flame flickering in my mind’s eye

 

which created a natural sacredness in the room I always associated with candles

giving a special kind of warmth to the atmosphere – different to that provided by the blanket and sheets

but the sort one would imagine surrounded Christ’s manger

 

it reminded me of something akin to the ordering of thought before sleep that Krishnamurti once alluded to

implying that when one has gone over the events of the day and puts them all into perspective before going to bed,

that ensures comfortable sleep without the restless activity of dreams

 

all this leading me to realise in that very moment, that I had all along been lucid dreaming

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

 

4 Comments on “mind manger”

  1. milliethom says:

    I love the description of the calcium-orange flame. You obviously paid attention in your metals-testing lessons! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Organized dreaming can be equally restful, I find.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    Well, I might agree with you, Heath (haha) but I’m not sure that Nick would! I have done metals testing with schoolkids though. It’s fascinating. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

