flight envy

a bird’s nest rests on a tree branch in the garden

and on a foggy yet warm autumn night, with the aid of a distant light

I gaze fixedly, envious of the little creatures’ skillfulness and contentment

© Heath Muchena, 2015

10 Comments on “flight envy”

  1. skat says:

    Nature often mesmerizes us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    What a lovely image you have created.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life is so filled with little moments like these – little perceptions – tiny bits of life and love and emotion that strike us in that moment. Only the artist sees them… 45 years ago I sat on the back porch of my boyhood home – late spring I think – just watching a spider toil away at her web in the upper corners of the aluminum awning…. Is it contentment that has caused me to keep this memory all of my life. I remeber it like it was yesterday. Did I love the spider – or her eagerness to carry on – I don’t know. But if I focus I could probably count how many stipes were on her back. That’s what an artist is, and that’s what I think you…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shanakant says:

    Love this! The imagery and sensory detailing here is impeccable. One suggestion: instead of “on a branch of a tree,” try using “on a tree branch.” That way the line flows more effortlessly. I love your writing and look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    thanks Millie 🙂

    Like

  6. I of July says:

    thanks innerdragon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    thanks for the insight John, interesting tale too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    hey Shana, thank you… I love your suggestion and it reads much better 🙂 thanks for the kind words too

    Liked by 1 person

  9. shanakant says:

    My pleasure! 🙂 take care.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

