fingers of a flame

with familiarity came friction

not the patently undesirable kind

but the sort created by a wanting… a wishing… and conditions

 

maybe the closer we grew, the more the passion withdrew

or simply the heat became a fire and all that was left were reflections between the fingers of a flame

or maybe it was because I put my dreams before you or it was just that I couldn’t fit into your puzzle

or a million more maybes… just like the contents of poetry

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

 

7 Comments on “fingers of a flame”

  1. …I couldn’t fit into your puzzle…

    I really like this. It’s quite an intriguing metaphor I think because there are multiple facets in which it can be viewed (complexity, disorder, being undeciphered, etc)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    Lovely poem, Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cote8050 says:

    yes, a million maybes….. so true. Love to you. Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    thanks phalanxednoise… I totally agree

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    awww thanks Michelle… love to you too 🙂

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on gertrudetkitty and commented:
    I like your work, it’s intimate and revealing with a hint of mystery. The flow of words, how they meander is comforting. Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    Hi Gert, thank you so much, so kind of you. Really appreciate that 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

