Past the Pleasant Point of Desire

I wish to tell… in the most inoffensive manner
so let me begin by stating that I have not seen all
still, it sure feels like I’ve met her before
or been with someone like her, or
maybe I shouldn’t say any more, lest I dig myself into a hole

but back to what I intend to disclose
well, the bottom line is that these beautiful and familiar faces… I admire
are individuals I can never allow to get too close
simply because taking that road just feels like trying to find a way through the worst quagmire

or maybe the spark just never seems to fire
or go beyond the point of desire
or the superficial

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

 

5 Comments on “Past the Pleasant Point of Desire”

  1. Run Wright says:

    Interesting. I wonder what she would say.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Hi Karen, interesting mention… what I failed to articulate is that feeling one gets when they clearly adore another/others but in spite of that they’re still totally convinced they’re better off alone because they find that more fulfilling and freeing. There’s no mistaking the writer is the fool here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Run Wright says:

    Now that’s a thought provoking response. I’ve been there – convinced that the relationship was hindering my happiness. Sometimes, it’s true, sometimes it’s not. The goal is discerning which is true.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Camila Montejo-Poll says:

    I love how you play with words in all these posts. This one struck me though. I interpreted it as the reason why it’s difficult to get to know someone. I think it could be taken further

    Like

  5. I of July says:

    Hi Camilla, thanks for the huge compliment. Your interpretation is spot on, and you’re right, not only can it be taken further, I also think it could be written better 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

