The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble

Setting: Humble Studios
Personae: Cocky Humble, a sculptor; Barnes, art agent

CH: burn me in effigy? hell, see this… middle finger, that’s what! I have nothing else to say to that alright!

B: they didn’t dislike every element…

CH: just stop right there, why do you always do that?

B: do what?

CH: use double negatives every time you’re about to deliver bad news

B: well, they liked some bits but they just weren’t taken by the finish

CH: a product is the sum of its bits, Barnes! what did they expect? they were very specific, and I listened… gave them what they asked for, is that not what I did?

B: personally, I think it’s a masterpiece

CH: you’re not going to inveigle me, Barnes!

B: but we need a new piece… otherwise we don’t eat… I’ll cover the direct materials cost for this one and double the fee, how about that, eh?

CH: appalling aesthetics, that’s what it is… anyway, I’ll schedule it, you’re right… we need to eat!

 

ยฉ Heath Muchena, 2015

 

12 Comments on “The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble”

  1. Heh… making an artist’s living. Oh, the compromised art we make!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    I love the way you’ve portrayed the characters here and the conversation is just great – particularly the part about Barnes’ use of double negatives. All sympathy to artists…and writers, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary says:

    Ha Heath, the life of an artist – the need to create, the need to eat!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eat, drink and be wary.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. inveigle? what you up to (I)? lol Please try me at williamleeone@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    thanks Millie, was just messing about ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    indeed, Mary… needs, needs ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    does that mean tomorrow we don’t die, righteous one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. I of July says:

    up to no good as usual, King Will ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  10. milliethom says:

    Well, I really enjoyed your piece of ‘messing about’. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jeanne says:

    Cocky Humble…that’s awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I of July says:

    thanks Jeanne ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like


Leave a Reply

