Poems, Charms & God’s Vineyard iv

the flowering of love is time dependent

it can be instantaneous
or it can be a long road like the stalk…
or even broad-spread like the frond of kelp

but a seed I sowed – as does every man
trying to stay balanced under pressure
as a capillary column of water balances the ocean
in a hydrostatic paradox

so I wait for it to spring
and surface
hoping to see the beauty of her face
and feel the comfort of her breast and kindness

still, the flowering of love appears subtle to the eye
that is why I’ll remain steadfast and wait to watch it germinate in a time-lapse

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

 


7 Comments on “Poems, Charms & God’s Vineyard iv”

  1. milliethom says:

    Lovely poem, Heath. I really like the way you have described the flowering of love as being time dependent. Great imagery. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vivachange77 says:

    Wonderful images of the flowering of love. “Time lapse” and “steadfast” speaks to me of what i know about love.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lily Lau says:

    What a great poem… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Thanks Millie, you always say the nicest things

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    Such a great compliment Lily, thank you 🙂

    Like

  6. I of July says:

    The little we know, chronicler 🙂 thank you

    Like


Leave a comment