A Love Like Winter

Not until you buy me a ring, she remarked

Is that everything? he replied

Why don’t you want to get married? a decibel louder – obviously a little frustrated. You know what you need…

Tell me then, what do I need?

To get your mind right. Get your bearingsget in the real world!

I think I’m quite practical, wouldn’t you say?

It’s been years… and you still haven’t said the words

Right, but let me tell you a thing a two about bearings… the world… and words

I’m really not in the mood for another of your metaphorical anecdotes

C’mon, that’s not fair! I let you have your say… you should hear me out

One last time

So, as far as bearings… I’ll tell you a little story… see, there was once a Dane named Bering, a navigator, who led the Russians on expeditions to discover whether Asia and North America were connected by land, helping them to annex Alaska

What are you getting at?

My next point… the world… and the words! Be patient my love… so, what’s interesting is that Russia later sold Alaska to the Americans for some two cents per acre making for a cheap acquisition. So my point is that of course, yes… I could ask you to marry me right now, but is it worthwhile? Personally, I feel not only will the wait mean more in the end but also – by that time I may be worth something… trust me… think about it…

No. I’m done, there’s nothing else to think about. You’re always evasive. Marry me now or I’m leaving!

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

10 Comments on “A Love Like Winter”

  1. saine13 says:

    “marry in haste, repent at leisure”. Regarding Alaska: why doesn’t it surprise me that grubby deals took place with other people’s lands to obtain their resources? How can anyone truly say they ‘discovered’ a land that already has people living there?!

    Like

  2. I of July says:

    answers I have not but that’s the story of our world, Les

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    What an interesting conversation, with points to consider from both sides. He definitely tells a good story… But whether we interpret it as simply evasiveness, as the woman proclaims, or as something he really believes, is open to interpretation!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like my kind of luck with romance!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    You’ve picked up on something really important to me Millie, creating and leaving open to interpretation is really what I strive to do so that’s a very meaningful ccompliment. I thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. milliethom says:

    I love all stories/poems – and even pieces of art – that leave us asking questions. You did it so well in that conversation, Heath. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. vivachange77 says:

    Sounds like persons from two different worlds passing like ships in the night.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    Very true indeed, chrone… two different species 🙂

    Like

  9. impostorpawn says:

    if ever there was a perfect reason for delaying marriage, i think he just summed it up…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I of July says:

    ha ha… not sure if it’s a sound argument though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

