Preserving Pristine Papers

If you lose all those hand-written manuscripts, will you also lose equanimity, a year’s sleep and ‘consistency of mind’ as Newton did? (she asked)

Firstly, I don’t have a dog like Diamond and God forbid there be a conflagration. Besides, that story is apocryphal… so no, I’d do no such thing for that’d imply one is to discover profundities in my papers at par with works such as the Principia and that’d be outright blasphemy! (he responded)

You think it vulgar to aspire to be as the greats?

No. I just don’t think there’s anything in those papers that’d warrant such heightened distress upon loss or is worth all that turmoil. It may even be liberating letting go of all that drama contained…

Great, that puts my mind at ease… sometimes I do fear your passion will permeate your entire being and cause disease…

I doubt that’d ever be so! The passion is not as the breath I need to live, but a belief that just gives this existence some meaning.

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

3 Comments on “Preserving Pristine Papers”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    Exactly how I feel about my writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Let each aspire to what is in the heart. Truth is, we don’t know exactly what was in the heart and mind of Sir Isaac, or any of the other “greats”, at any given moment. We only know of a person, what is revealed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    and that is true my dear brother righteous

    Like


Leave a Reply

