The Plea for a Midwinter Marriage

There they stood. It was the moment of truth so as he should – he got down on one knee and expressed to her, by the same words Thomas Hood used when he said to his wife, ‘I never was anything, dearest, till I knew you; and I have been a better, happier, and more prosperous man ever since.’

There was a slight pause, and then he continued, this time in his own words, ‘You’re my everything, princess, and I love you. Be my wife, for the greater good… and I promise with my life you shall be my one and only interest, and I’ll try my very best to be as your prince.

 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

2 Comments on “The Plea for a Midwinter Marriage”

  1. john hauge says:

    the best laid plans of mice and men.

    Like

  2. milliethom says:

    I can imagine which version appealed to her the most. Although… if this lady has an inflated ego, then his opening phrase the first time would likely boost that egostill further.

    Like


Leave a Reply

