62.6

customs are carved before laws are laid
just as lust rises but only love settles
 

Β© Heath Muchena, 2015

10 Comments on “62.6”

  1. Beautiful thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The best you have written! Well done I ! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    thanks Kritika, you’re always kind πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    you are a good fellow King Will πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re welcome πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dude. You’re on fire.

    “lust rises from the dust but only love settles” ?

    Brilliance.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    ha ha if only πŸ™‚ I had to delete ‘from the dust’ – a little superfluous I think

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I dunno…. kinda liked the “ashes to ashes, dust to dust” reference of it. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I of July says:

    uhh… I hadn’t thought of it that way… good point πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. “If I had written into my poetry half of what people read into it, it would have taken twice as long to write half as much.”

    I’m not sure who — if anyone — said that. I’ve been attributing it to Frost, possibly erroneously for years, because I can find it anywhere else.

    In any case, the most important author of any particular poem is the person reading it, in the moment they read it. πŸ˜‰

    Which brings to mind a young musical prodigy, known for his interpretations of Mozart’s piano pieces. Can’t remember his name, but he said something like: “There is always more to be discovered in a piece of music. The composer finds a lot of it. But people who follow can always find more. The music wants to be found.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

