Burnside Blues ii

shadow rides the moonlight’s
fading lustre of a gem space encrusted

the quiet sounds of eventide
only for a moment – lasted

before the feticide
when she uprooted
from her womb
and her side
her soul

’til she was enervated
and her heart was divided

but a shadow needs no tomb
not at all
 

ยฉ Heath Muchena, 2015

15 Comments on “Burnside Blues ii”

  1. Beautiful. I especially love the last line. Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    Powerful writing, Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We step on them! wicked smile! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    thanks Jen, I’m so pleased you like it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    where would I be without your motivation Millie, can’t thank you enough

    Liked by 1 person

  6. milliethom says:

    Heath, your writing is inspirational! Your use of language and your imagery are excellent. On top of all that, your vast general knowledge shines through in every piece you write. I’m stunned by your many references to people and events, both past and present. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. megsytyler says:

    Very powerful. I like your style – reminds me of Seaing the Sea by John Hegley – maybe check him out.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh… wow.

    Dark, and honest, and painful … and …

    Powerful. Yes, very powerful.

    And yes, that last couplet. What an image. So much said, in just 9 words.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I of July says:

    I’m humbled and uplifted at the same time. I tend to write as my mind thinks – without structure – only thought/experience/feeling – I try to obey. And most times something I’d have read a while back comes to fore of my head and I just can’t help but compare. I think it’s human habit to live somewhat vicariously… and we have an affinity for commonality. You always say the nicest things. Who knows maybe some day you’ll be referenced here. You are a living legend in your own right Mme ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I of July says:

    Thank you Meg, much appreciated. I looked up Hegley’s poem and I enjoyed reading it – ”makes these four eyes of mine wet with weep” I thought was a very good line.

    Like

  11. I of July says:

    Your feedback is truly appreciated Pat, thanks man.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. milliethom says:

    Not many people can write the way you do, Heath. You translate your immediate thoughts and feelings into words so beautifully. Your vocabulary is extensive, as is your general knowledge.
    (I’m finding it hard to keep up with my Reader at the moment, so I’m sorry if I’ve missed some of your work. There are some blogs I haven’t got to for weeks. There aren’t enough hours in the day.)
    Keep well, and be happy, Heath. โค

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I of July says:

    And you are more than gifted… you are a gift, Millie – thank you. As far as not keeping up with the blogs, I’m guilty of that too… but then again, as you’ve pointed out, the days just aren’t long enough. I haven’t even had time to browse all my favourites. Visit whenever time allows, I’m sure many of us feel the same. And remember anything good will always resurface, so all in due time. I’ll visit your space soon too, promise. Always lovely to hear from you… hope the family and the summer is all good… take care ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. cat9984 says:

    Stunning – such beautiful words almost override the violence of what is being described

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I of July says:

    I really appreciate your observation… never been fond of harsh-sounding language

    Like


Leave a Reply

