Cedar Loft iii

she had a cigarette in one hand
a paint brush in the other
and the way she was dressed
reminded me of Rosa Bonheur

I asked her as she worked
why she had used different colours
to paint what seemed the exact same animal, only with a different shade
as I had observed upon looking at another canvas hung on the walls of her studio space

she smiled and simply said:
‘a jackal if black-backed
will change colours with the seasons…
tawny in winter and white in the summer
that is the reason’

I smiled back, utterly impressed but without saying a word
although in my head
all I wanted
was to express to her
how much I really loved her
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

6 Comments on “Cedar Loft iii”

  1. That’s a class write sir, congrats

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    ”may as well be damned in style” 🙂 thank you Humble one

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My new favorite! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    so happy you enjoyed… means a lot esp coming from such a fine artist as yourself 🙂

    Like

  5. You are so kind. I admit I was nervous about reading your work, afraid I wouldn’t “get” it. What a delight to read your poetry and recognize a meaning I would not have been able to express.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    awww… I think with any kind of art – the best one can do is express themselves as best they can and people will make of it what they will or get from it what is given… glad you gave it a chance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

