The Lewd Life of Lucian Lansdowne iii

allow me to put in my two cents…
you see, I know I can love a woman
as much if not better than Sappho of Lesbos
can you not tell from reading these poems?

if only I could find one
deserving of her own temple
one with a penchant for rhythm
and a perfect embouchure
who’d vow to be my hetaira
my Lamia of Athens

who I will beget children by –
daughters to coddle and give Pat Cutforth dolls houses
and sons who will take my –
legacy to the tops of mountains
 

Β© Heath Muchena, 2015

13 Comments on “The Lewd Life of Lucian Lansdowne iii”

  1. dirtdaubber says:

    Mmmmmmmm……………..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. impostorpawn says:

    Goodness, that must be one lucky woman.And yeah i can definitely tell from these poems.
    Really great work Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    Love the combination of Greek mythology and Pat Cutforth dolls houses (which I’ve just had to look up, as I’ve never heard of them!). Wonderful poem, Heath – and I hope you find this woman of your dreams – with a perfect ’embouchure, of course. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    Re above comment, I should have said, ‘I hope Lucian finds the woman of his dreams!’

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Incorrigible! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    thanks you dear, really appreciate it xo πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    Oh yes, Pat is quite the artist. And thanks Millie, I like that you think it’s biographical πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    there’s a little Lucian in some of us πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. I of July says:

    indeed πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Perhaps the woman of his dreams was given a dolls house as a child, instead of a mountain and now she does not feel deserving of a temple…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I of July says:

    Possible πŸ™‚ … interesting perspective. thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  12. cat9984 says:

    What beautiful language.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I of July says:

    thanks dear, glad you think so πŸ™‚

    Like


Leave a Reply

