The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble iii

Setting: Humble Studios
Personae: Cocky Humble, a sculptor; Sonia, his longtime lover

C.H.
I don’t know sweetheart, perhaps I’m being a bit too bold
this has never been done before
if it has then it surely never made it to a public show
so I think it wise to put this whole project on hold

S:
and what kind of artist would that make you?
I know you think no one can escape the force
you’ve mentioned before that even the architect of international law
Hugo Grotius couldn’t

true that may be, but what I know for sure
is that should your work land you in the hole because it’s controversial
I vow to come to your rescue, hide you in a book chest if I have to
just as Hugo’s wife did, for I will never let anyone keep you behind any wall
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

3 Comments on “The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble iii”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    I love the way you express the freedom of an artist to shape the world differently. Sonia is a good muse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I agree with you, she most certainly appears to be. And thank you for the compliment dear – I’m always appreciative 🙂

    Like

  3. cat9984 says:

    True love appears in many guises.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

