Gabriel the Great (background gems)

and it was placed in his hand
a platinum pen
made of pure – taken from the ground from where he came…
and upon which he’d build a house of stone
along the Great Dyke
and one grander than his ancestor Mutapa’s

however, he knew they’d be demands
judging by how heavy the pen weighed
and then the Man who had handed it to him said:
here are all the archive files
the title deeds to your land
oh and about the black rhino – a south central calf at that, really?
do you have any idea how rare…
what lengths we went…
but we now have it there
protected
you’ll see it when you bring the paperwork I suspect

‘yes, looking forward to it. but first, I have a lot of hard work and craft challenges to face. there’s a lot here, so much material. but now that I have the files, his papers and diaries – more precious than Pepys’, all that’s left is to do my best. and since we’ve all met the terms and all agree on the direction our nation should take, the rest will be in the people’s hands,’ he replied…
‘I’ll have it completed before 2020 as promised. I’m certain. just as I outlined in my proposal. I understand it may appear that I sent you to hell and back with my requests but I just want what I’ve earned. what my work is worth, every word. I don’t want anything I haven’t worked for. and I’m sure you also appreciate how much such a text is needed by our people. so in that regard, I think it’s only fair. and I’ll ask for nothing else, seeing as I have already secured my involvement’ he continued

well, he may not live to read it but he wants his story told, the right way – he hopes it’ll be the true mark of his legacy‘ the Man responded

‘and I’m privileged to be…’

‘yes, you should be… your life depends on it

‘a burden I’m all too pleased to bear, just ensure it’s taken good care of, and tamed’

oh, of course, the rhino, yes, sure

‘it’ll be important when the time comes. he will ride it to the inauguration. we will take over the reigns – no matter what happens between now and then. I hope you’ll be there to witness… and then you’ll truly appreciate how those little details will be the vital force in helping bring it all to fruition’

speak no further

‘amen!’
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

5 Comments on “Gabriel the Great (background gems)”

  1. I must need to research this before proper comment can be made! I, I really like what you have written, and intriguing it is, so To the research I go! ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vivachange77 says:

    The black rhino instead of a donkey – clever key to your story. If it needs a key. I like it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    thank you thegirlhasnoname, much appreciated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    glad it made some sort of sense and you like it 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

