Dungeons and Dreams IV

“The formula always goes beyond the fact which it expresses”
I believe Bergson once wrote.

I make mention of this because it was the first saying that came to mind as I found myself in bed between consciousness and dream, a state in which repressed desires from my waking hours found opportunity to manifest. Therein, a phantasm of Benedict IX, yes, the same one who became Pope some time after the age of ten, only to then sell the Papacy when he was twenty one….

Out of nowhere, a semé of stars on a lady shaped silhouette – I could only assume she symbolised Her – Benedict’s cousin who is reported to have refused to marry him causing him to renege on the sale and avail himself of the power at his disposal in order to regain his Papacy….

Suddenly I was awake and left only with afterthoughts – those words of Bergson’s, especially the part where he continues to expound the aforementioned by stating that “to recognise a man is to distinguish him from other men; but to recognise an animal is usually to identify the species to which it belongs.”

The experience left me questioning: poor Pope Ben, where dost thou belong? In a dungeon or upon a throne?
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

12 Comments on “Dungeons and Dreams IV”

  1. Intriguing and some how funny ! I like it anyway ! ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The wisdom of a child-Pope, matched only by his naivete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    glad you found it funny somewhat 🙂

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    right on the button 🙂

    Like

  5. vivachange77 says:

    Interesting conundrum. I see a misled child who strayed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. <smile>

    Most times I read you
    I feel I haven’t read anything yet
    In ten thousand years of publishing
    But should get on it right away
    Before I miss any more of the world
    You so wholly and easily
    Inhabit
    And bring to life
    With words

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laine Anne Jensen says:

    I found this a profound and well written piece. It will probably keep me thinking tonight 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    Sure seems that way 🙂

    Like

  9. I of July says:

    you’re a god for saying that man… truly appreciate it… I feel the same when I see your images… like I haven’t seen the world at all 🙂

    Like

  10. I of July says:

    Such kindness, I’m glad it had that effect on you… hope you do have good dreams after that though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. <smile> And there is still so much we haven’t seen, haven’t read, haven’t photographed and haven’t written.

    Quite an adventure we’ve gotten ourselves into, eh? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I of July says:

    you ain’t never lie man 🙂 one of proportions… life giving… meaning… everything

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

