Love Abound

I know that I acted selfish at times
and even though I cheated
you were the one who was always on my mind
…the love of my life

so you say it’s hard to put it all behind
when they keep appearing in the things I write
and that you feel like you’re the woman on the side
in my world of love abound

and it’s tearing our hearts apart
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

3 Comments on “Love Abound”

  1. How simple it would all be, if both the man and his various concubines were as faithful as he imagines his “true love” to be. How much simpler, if she were such a paragon, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. magicpoet01 says:

    Dear Heath, In my humble opinion you cannot cheat and then say the love of your life was always on your mind. It is not possible.
    You can love two people at the same time. But you have to make choices. You may be hansome, smart, intelligent and a writer but you got it right in the opening line – you are being SELFISH. You are hurting someone and you know it – that is not loving.
    Sorry but it is my view.
    Still love your blog!
    Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    Hello Maggie

    Thank you so much for your comment. I totally agree with all you have noted. Only thing is I wrote in first person but it’s really not about me. I was just tapping into the emotions of that fictional construct. I may have drawn from feelings and experiences to give it the weight of more than just creative piece and I am pleased it has evoked the emotions – yours and I am sure other readers’, in all sorts of ways.

    Personally, I see it as the man, the I – saying yes, he acknowledges his wrong and ”you were the one who was always on my mind” meaning in his view before/after the act of cheating his moral compass- mislaid as it may have been – always had her as its point of adjudication… as though she was in essence his lodestar… the one he constantly lost track of even though he had a desire to follow and stay on course.

    On the other hand, She is earnest in her expression of what she feels his actions have done to their relationship. This is where the idea of ‘Love Abound’ and the symbol of ‘tearing hearts’ as in the final line show the contrast and imperfection of it all. Not sure that makes sense but that’s where my heart was with the piece.

    Thanks also for letting me know you do like the blog. Coming from you it means everything. Yes, every time you comment I know I’m doing something right. You have read and probably met the best of them.

    warm regards,
    Heath

    Like


Leave a Reply

