Poems, Charms & God’s Vineyard vii

we started off as friends
spending time and sharing common fancies

over time the passionate relations turned into intimate engagements
mornings, afternoons, evenings…
whenever we could steal moments to get wrapped up in our sensual cocoon

now that a few years have passed
since we severed our ties
I am hopeful that you’ve been blessed
with all you’ve ever wanted out of life

and by now any feelings born of our memory should be lost to you
not in any way callous for I know it is true for me too
on most days, but on others, the remembrance I cannot seem to lay to rest

because we shared a connection I had never before felt
one that holds especial significance
since for me it gave meaning to the idea of romance
even if it’s something I may never again experience

still, those feelings – unique to our love
will always be with me
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

10 Comments on “Poems, Charms & God’s Vineyard vii”

  1. RaineFairy says:

    the last two lines just hit me, perhaps because I know how it feels 😥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tchistorygal says:

    I really love this. It says exactly what I have thought about a friend of mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary says:

    Beautiful Heath – filled with a sad remembrance and soaked with emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awwwww! ; ) See “Little River Band ” Reminiscing !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so beautiful and it touched me….because my heart is currently aching, this piece made me cry. I was already feeling what I felt, but these words….that’s the final thing that broke this dam or tears…..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    Hey RaineFairy… thanks for the compliment… glad it moved you

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    Hey Marsha, thanks for the kind words. Happy you can relate 🙂

    Like

  8. I of July says:

    I like your description of it Mary, thanks a lot

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I of July says:

    Hey Zee

    I’m touched that it moved you that much… I hope you felt better after

    Much love

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Unathi K. says:

    This poem snapped me out of denial about some things I thought I had put to rest long ago. Thanks for sharing…and for coming ovrr to my blog and reading my post on adoption. I look forward to reading more of your poetry.

    Like


Leave a Reply

