Decades Dreaming of Democracy

once I thought democracy was the use of all nature’s resources
by all the inherent and developed mental and physical powers of man
for the good of all people

but as I came to live in one, I also became aware
that the sources from where I had gotten my distorted view and understanding of it had deceived me

it was not what I had dreamed
for it seemed to me nothing more than just a system that, in my time, had taken the lead

right then I was convinced
of the unchanging law of humanity
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

11 Comments on “Decades Dreaming of Democracy”

  1. Beth says:

    I hope you continue dreaming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you regard the country as a democracy?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wisdom… sometimes the result of a painfully hot bath of insight and reflection on our own gullibility.

    Sweetly put, Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this one, Heath. 🙂

    Q: What is the difference between Democracy and Communism?

    A: In Communism, man oppresses man.
    In Democracy, it’s the other way around.

    We can change systems all we like.
    The point, however, is to change ourselves.

    And that is why I speak much less of politics, and much, much more about The Way.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    forever, forever… ever 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    very good question… one’s regard of it is as such because the world deems it so, right?

    Like

  7. I of July says:

    You put it perfectly, pal! 🙂 I like that

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    You ain’t never lie, friend 🙂 True indeed

    Like

  9. Heh… I try to be true. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  10. <grin> A kind of wisdom we share, methinks.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

