Sundew Sins ii

she was the one
who had me begging for mercy
and writing notes to the rhythm of Psalm 51
to play for her the miserere

she said:
if it’s another of your epigrams
then please, know now that I will not hear it!

I replied:
what then shall be my faith… my fate… when it’s because of you that I disagree with the saints, especially Augustine in his saying that “nothing debases a man like the caresses of a woman”

I was the one
guilty of infidelity
lying and all sorts… sinning in the name of fun
so now I have to pay for my transgressions… it’s only fair
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

3 Comments on “Sundew Sins ii”

  1. J. Ashley Cosby says:

    It’s only fair–still the worst part of misery is being unprepared.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    very insightful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

