76.5

I try to act upon reason
always wishing to do my work and duty well
only to find that my heart ultimately determines the course…

because the power of my mind’s insights and thoughts
in its workings to form judgements in a logical manner
sometimes infringes on my passions

and so, on the one hand I find that my ideas lie on a plane that my emotions can traverse
but on the other hand, those emotions are the impetus for a kind of parturition of my intellectual proficiency
 

© Heath Muchena, 2015

4 Comments on “76.5”

  1. Nitin says:

    I like how you put it. Logic infringing on your passions. Usually people will say the opposite. I get where you’re coming from though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Dear friend Nitin

    I appreciate that you found it meaningful…. I would add that in my experience, poetry can be a bit too purple and too demanding of the reader. But then one need not fully comprehend as long as it sparks a thought, an interest.

    Also, true art I think, needs only to make us feel.

    So I’m absolutely pleased that you get the angle… and as you suggested – there is always an opposite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nitin says:

    Your words remind me of a poem by Billy Collins called Introduction to Poetry. I agree with what you said about true art. Even an abstruse piece that captures sentiment, or channels one’s stream of thought in a completely new direction makes the best art sometimes. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    Spot on my brother. Thank you for your wisdom Nitin. It’s refreshing 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

