Raindrop Clock ii

I have a hold on you so long as I have you inside….
I’m fully aware of my power now and I know your weaknesses well

it is nature’s reserved right to exploit my instinctual vice, but when you do it… it’s nothing nice

well, I’m done playing nice!

oh sweet love, why make a fuss
look how heaven’s hand has decorated the sky
see the clouds, the creatures of flight…
when I leave our nest and fly… it’s nothing more than a search for a natural high
explorations of the truest heights at which to live life

true that would be
if not corrupted are your deeds… how do you expect to have met – theirs and my needs?
true that would be
if you couldn’t be brought down to earth
but false I’d be if I do not make you see that nothing measures up to a true woman’s worth

that is why my dear, to your kind I dedicate… all my life’s work

but do you even realise that my heart is marked, covered in cicatrices… all because of your other ties?

you know that I am the progeny of a polygamous tribe

yes, I get that… a genetic curiosity… be that as it may, I still believe that self-control is the way of gentility and the path to dignity.
and so this too I have to say… that your affairs you no longer have to hide because now I realise my power, or better still, the power of my flower; the same that keeps you coming back like a beetle to pollinate this here my Victoria amazonica… I know now how precious, royal…

say no more, that much I know and from hereon I assure… I’ll be loyal
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “Raindrop Clock ii”

  1. tunisiajolyn84 says:

    “you know that I am the progeny of a polygamous tribe” Love this line! (And the whole poem, of course)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Haha 😂 thanks Tun, glad you like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tunisiajolyn84 says:

    You’re welcome. And is Tun my new nickname? If so, I’ll just add that to the list. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    I have a habit of making up nicknames, just glad you’re not offended lol

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

