The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble viii

Setting: Humble Studios
Personae: Cocky Humble, a sculptor; Sonia, his longtime lover and business manager

CH:
I thought you said I’d never have to go to another of these dinners again
now you got me looking all swanky in this Ozwald Boateng

S:
you like it then?

CH:
I can’t complain

S:
excellent! now you just need to work on a little attitude adjustment
because I really need you on your A game tonight babe

CH:
yes, of course! I’m with you dear… anything to keep the bills paid

S:
great. so I need not remind you…

CH:
again and again…

S:
I’m just saying…
‘sides it’s not gon’ take long. but they did request your attendance.
and I think for you to be there present is a fairly reasonable expectation… you know, just so they can ascertain you are indeed fit for the task, because let’s face it… it is a massive commission

CH:
again and again and again…

S:
just say-in’…

CH:
but isn’t there greater awe in the imagining
after all, what we make of ourselves and what others make of us
or vice versa is still imagined

S:
that may well be true handsome…
can you give me a hand with this?

CH:
sure princess, let me…

S:
oh, and please darling, if you’re going to tell a joke, at least… pleasee let it be of this epoch

CH:
oh! ah! so… but you always laugh at my jokes

S:
yes, but they are a thing of taste… and one has to be habituated to fully appreciate your dry jest… I’m adjusted, but I’m not so sure…

CH:
well, what can I say… thanks you the compliment… or not

S:
aww, look who is all in their feelings… it’ll be fine, you’ll be great, my perfect man!

CH:
I’m not… but guess what? I’m more than capable of keeping it current, pertinent, and all that… you’ll see!
and since we’re kind of in between the Holocene and the Anthropocene, I’ll be sure to keep my humour in line with that – edgy!

S:
try fashionably balanced

CH:
and that it shall be! I’m ready. are you ready?

S:
yeah, I’m ready

CH:
all round ready then, let’s get it over and done with!
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “The Conflicted Life of Cocky Humble viii”

  1. I of July says:

    Not in Neverend 🙂

    Like

  2. vivachange77 says:

    I like the repartee. S and Ch make good sparring partners.

    Like

  3. I of July says:

    Haha yes, they sure do. Thanks dear 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

