The Lewd Life of Lucian Landsdowne vi

Setting: Lansdowne’s Living Room
Personae: Sir Lucian; and his physician, Dr Shaw

S:
she’s married Lucian, surely that can’t be right

L:
tired of hearing you go on and on about that old phenomenon of sentiment
tell me something different
something new

S:
I just think you’re being overly self-indulgent

L:
it’s not so simple, Shaw! quite a sophisticated situation actually

S:
why won’t you just come out and tell the truth, you’re the poet!
wasn’t it Matthew Arnold who wrote that “poetry is nothing less than the most perfect speech of man, that in which he comes nearest to being able to utter the truth”?

L:
that is no lie and that is why I’ve always kept close to mind that Van Dyke line “help me to deal very honestly with words and with people because they are both alive“
that’s what I try to do
and I promise you that is the truth, it’s complicated!
we didn’t plan this, things sort of just happened, you know… one thing led to another and the next…

S:
that’s beside the fact… someone is still bound to end up getting hurt

L:
well, that could well be true but I have no regrets
and yes, of course there’s always a degree of risk
but that’s with everything, love is no different

S:
you call that love?

L:
you really want to discuss definitions?

S:
all right then – forget it

L:
you’re always so quick to assume my feelings are disengaged

S:
need I mention the historical basis for my presumptions?

L:
trust me, I’m actually quite invested in this
and I’m not gon’ let you make me out like I’m some self-satisfying…

S:
not my intention…

L:
stop mocking me then, this is serious, man!
you make it seem like I’m Bismarck – forging a telegram to stir up a war – only to brag about it in my memoirs or something… but it’s really nothing like that… I care about her

S:
all right then, I apologise

L:
you want to know what that sweet lady said to me last?

S:
what did she say?

L:
“you more than made my day, you’ve made your way into my heart and there you shall forever stay”

S:
is that so? and what about her man?

L:
something about… ties of unfulfilled obligations
they have an understanding
didn’t bother going into the depths of their arrangements
besides, it’s not really my place

S:
and what does she make of your having been a bachelor your whole life…
or did she not bother asking about your past sexcapades either?

L:
probably best for us both – not disclosing much…
else we’ll end up getting attached
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

2 Comments on “The Lewd Life of Lucian Landsdowne vi”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    I like your mixture of literary and human proclivities.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I love the way you describe it, thank you

    Like


Leave a Reply

