Open County ii

reeds and rivers go together
in harmonious summer weather

and so, too, my needs you tend like a caregiver
but only when in return you need a favour

O, sweet seasonal lover
how I still prefer your time over any other

and when you’re gone
my heart turns to stone that rapids roll on the riverbed
uprooting what for a time stood fixedly on the bank’s fertile grounds
enjoying nature’s nourishment and flourishing
like these sun-kissed ochre stalks with supreme greens that I see all around

but since constitutional temperament might vary the form of romantic experience
I blame my tenderhearted notions on my gentle disposition
and so upon your return next season
I will hope for even fairer weather

because if rivers and reeds go together
in harmonious summer weather
then why not you and I stay together
so we can make each other better?
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

10 Comments on “Open County ii”

  1. mopana says:

    Nice thoughts 🙂

    Like

  2. I of July says:

    glad you think so 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The river challenges the reed, in its endeavour to stay anchored, even whilst giving it life. What would life be, without challenge?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    You expressed it better than I ever could and so true too, thanks again Righteous one 🙂

    Like

  5. vivachange77 says:

    I like your images of reeds and rivers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. impostorpawn says:

    i love that word play with the seasons and the river’s terrain.
    Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    I’m glad you do, I was out in the countryside over the weekend and a sight inspired me. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  8. I of July says:

    thank you very much, a bit of sense and sensibility in it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

