diamond dump

her predilection for diamonds
meant that she had a strong affinity for the precious metal
one as strong as a potent high
so he expected she’d be delighted once he unveiled the gem
anticipating the frenzied excitement of a squealing eagle
but to his surprise she didn’t flinch, not even a little

taken aback he blurted out
don’t you like it?
it’s the one you said you always wanted
what’s the problem?

there was a momentary silence then she simply responded
it’s not the jewel, it’s you. I just can’t believe it’s taken you actually proposing for me to truly understand that a diamond is but a deposit of carbon from the sun
and even though that one in particular, is awesome, I couldn’t help but ask myself the question…

what question?

I was just thinking out loud

they say talking to oneself is the ‘abbreviation of the speech process involved in thinking in its least modified form’ so please do tell, give it to me raw
I can take it

or at least learn to accept it

… I asked myself whether I wanted to bear your child
and I’m afraid my heart tells me you’re not the one

never could I have imagined you’d turn it down?

I’m sorry, but it’s not you I want it from… we’re done!

but I’m the only one you know who has enough income to buy for you this diamond
and I’ve often been called handsome
come on love, don’t shut me out

no. I’m done!

I know this came as a surprise
I should give you more time to think it through

no! I’m numb. and no charm could bring about a change of mind

well then, in that case I guess we’re truly done

yes, but don’t feel bummed. while it lasted it was fun
come, I’ll give you one last hug
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

3 Comments on “diamond dump”

  1. milliethom says:

    Great dialogue, and when all’s said and done, the lady has a good point! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    haha, the ladies always have sounder sense… thank you very much, much appreciated xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. milliethom says:

    I really liked this one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

