Memory Stain iii

memories are but feelings immortalised
and every fragment of you that features in a daydream or bedtime fantasy
creates the polarity between my emotions and reason

like the spark of that season
when you and I were intimate
the times that had me believing
for love – life was worth living

yet when the mood subsides
I feel compromised
knowing you’re sleeping
in some other’s bed, on some other’s chest

I had always been told that if you love… you let go
but I didn’t suspect you’d find some place else to nest
and so soon

but if memories are feelings immortalised
then I have no regrets
even if one minute they are fresh
and the next – stained
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

10 Comments on “Memory Stain iii”

  1. bipolar one, real life two. says:

    This. Is. Everything. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rajiv says:

    Nicely written, sir!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    thank you dear, much love and much appreciated

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    thank you Mr Chopra, that’s kind of you 🙂

    Like

  5. Pure genius and love the duel sided ending

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    Much appreciated HumbleOne, I’m pleased you picked up on that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    Fabulous writing Heath.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    So kind of you, thanks… you give me reason to smile ☺ plentifully

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jax says:

    You never fail to make me *gasp* as I am reading! Great piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I of July says:

    That’s so nice of you Jax, you’re wonderful. Thanks, really glad you feel that way 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

