Sayings For Sale ix

They seem to think a book is an article of virtu. But let me tell you… as much as wealth is not the measure of enjoyment, publication as such is not the validation of literary achievement.

And the great Xenophon once stated that ‘nothing can be more useful in war than a well-timed stratagem’, so too you’ll find that nothing is more purposeful than a work of art that serves to inspire peace or teach, especially in a world where most endeavours are undertaken with the intent to only make profit.

And because of the internet, there’s no limit to how far your work can reach; so why not then use that convenience to speak from your heart, and spread the purest substance of your soul like a useful viropexis, instead of promulgating superficial solutions like that initiated when the world’s first ATM was installed in Enfield Street, only to service those who already had savings and the rich.

I write for those who are interested, not those who can afford to pay a buck or quid. And so I say – read if you must… no rush, for I will keep giving you as much as you’re willing to take and continue to ’til I return to dust.

 

Β© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “Sayings For Sale ix”

  1. Ah, are you taking on the biased lottery of publishers vs. unpublished writings?
    Indeed, blogs are a good way to talk to “the world”… however, if one is not blessed with “the promotion gene” one will have a scant scattering of followers who may – or may not – actually read one’s stuff. (That would be mostly me… πŸ˜‰ )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    hi MigrantThoughts, I was referring to traditional publishing… re: blogging – that is indeed true, but I’m not so sure about the necessity of promo unless getting a huge following is on the agenda, I find it doesn’t always equate to having a wide readership… I think it’s better to have one person read and really take something away from it than have thousands of readers who don’t really find value in the work. I also believe so long as one stays consistent and writes passionately, the following will grow but it does take time… thanks so much for your contribution – it means a lot πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank YOU for taking the time to follow up and respond.
    I did mean traditional publishing companies as opposed to the unpublished writer who tries to get published. I believe that there IS a part of “lottery” involved… Take for example authors such as Stephen King or J. K. Rowling who have boxes full with rejection letters. Why did so many publishers not see the value/potential? That’s what I meant with the lottery.
    As for the blogs…. the VALUE of one good reader is certainly more than that of a thousand who don’t really care; I entirely agree. However… it would be nice to have a thousand readers who care… πŸ˜‰
    I like your spirit that prefers value and depth over commercial values! Indeed, there is no comparing….

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    Totally agree with you, dear friend. Haha a thousand? I’m going to bet you reach that in no time… I’ll even go as far as to say I’ll owe you a big one if by this time next time that’s not the case… I found you, I’m sure more will too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

