A Woman’s Wave

She was perfection. Her features symmetrical and proportionate – which makes any attempt at defining my attraction for her rather impossible, that is, without somewhat seeming as though I’m objectifying. But as I write – I confess to trying to avoid just that, but if I were to imply that the deity responsible for this beauteous creation didn’t ensure her dimensions were relative to some heavenly scheme of measurement – which obviously involved avoiding fractional, or more accurately, fragmented parts, then surely I’d be lying.

Aside from her beauty, she had a dignified appeal, which was a comfort to the mind, and more than just an aesthetic delight to the eye. And since I couldn’t resist, I approached her and said: “O, sweet attagirl! For you I would build a sacred tower, as grand as any ziggurat of Sumeria. I would excavate the earth and find for you a gem as great as the Lesedi La Rona of Botswana. So please be mine, and I promise there’s nothing I wouldn’t do…”

She looked at me with her pretty bright eyes, then sighed – before she replied: “Do you agree that we tend to distaste the act of paying more than the actual payment?” Quite frankly, that threw me off. “Sure, that is quite true my lady”, was my hasty response, which I admit now, in retrospect, I hadn’t really thought through at the time.

She continued: “Then it must be true too, that men do enjoy the chase more than they do the act of commitment, so how can I trust you?” I now needed to choose my words carefully that moment, and I saw no way out other than to speak from the heart, and so I said: “I’m not asking you to, although I would cherish the chance to prove…”

“I don’t expect you to”, she spoke gently, yet precisely. “Let me, please… let me love you”, I pleaded. Her eyes were telling me she could see right through me – to my core. Her reaction giving away the fact that she was at that point convinced that I was genuinely interested.

But how could I not be? She was a star without a doubt. A beauty to behold. In my eyes of course. Strong and gifted. A character with form, worthy of the story now told. My Silvana Lima, deserving of endorsement and sponsorship, without prejudice.
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “A Woman’s Wave”

  1. The beauty which radiates from within, cannot be made to fade. Treasure your golden lady.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Always good counsel from you RighteousOne – how can one not take that on board 🙂

    Like

  3. sodarsoth says:

    Loved every single sentence.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    I’m pleased you did 🙂 that’s so nice of you to mention… thanks

    Like


Leave a Reply

