Love Later

let’s lie down for now
and let us leave love for later

I’m well endowed – no doubt
and your beauty, your smile, your ways withal… I swear I’ve never seen better

don’t know why, don’t know how
can’t say I know where we’ll end up either

but one thing for certain
we should try, right here, right now, this night

while we’re still love firebrands
fetching the light of passion like fennel-stalks

under these stars, this sky, in this warm weather
and not leave love for later
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

5 Comments on “Love Later”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    Love the imagery of firebrands and fennel-stalks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I wondered if anyone would think it fitting, clearly you do. Makes me feel good, thank you

    Like

  3. I always like your love poems, but generally have nothing to say. They seem so personal. 🙂

    Also: since I like your blogs very much, I have nominated you for the “Liebster Award,” even though you probably don’t need much promoting.
    Please check out my award-nomination blog where you are mentioned: https://migrantthoughts.wordpress.com/2016/04/17/liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    I totally understand 🙂 sometimes there isn’t much to say. But you’ve actually communicated much without necessarily commenting specifically. I know now that the writing comes across as very personal. Another friend called me an emotional writer which I also found fascinating, particularly because the works are and they aren’t personal, if that makes any sense. I suppose they do contain elements or underpinnings of personal experiences, but they are largely works of the imagination and not necessarily about me, at least that’s what I like to think. But as they say, we reveal more of ourselves through our work than we would like to admit :). I’m just glad they connect.

    As far as the award nomination, I can only say thank you so much for such kind recognition. Unfortunately, I decided from the beginning that this will remain an award-free blog. I believe there are probably more deserving bloggers in the sphere. I only write because I can’t help it and my reasoning is that awards wouldn’t do much to validate…. Perhaps some day in the far future I’ll accept a Prize from one of these so-deemed institutions of the literati but most likely never an Award. Even then, admittedly I’d only accept a Prize in the case I found myself in need of the money 🙂

    many, many thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No need for gratitude. The award was for the joy to share your blog with others.

    Thank you for the comment and explanations about your blogs and motivations, and your urge to write, which I understand so well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

