Man Of My Time

I get the feeling
that even if I had the skill or power to redefine meaning
like Louis Dublin
the statistician responsible for people dieting
I’d still rather they made their own decisions
and be at ease with self
knowing that I, as just a penman
stood up for the greater good of something
even if it meant that some of my actions
would inevitably be a matter of compromising
and sometimes of socially and even morally adjusting

and since you’re only as high or as low as you think
I know that as long as I remain creative
then I’m never on empty
because I’ll be full of dopamine again
the moment I begin to create yet another scene

and life becomes about finding the balance between control and stability
sophism and truth in meaning
avoiding infraction
in some circumstances through the conventional convenience of religion
since war is the suspension of the moral law
which always keeps me thinking
and keeps me reaching

and because I choose to see and wish to live different
and my perspective on life is anchored on a lust for universal love
my mind is persistent
I can’t resist it
the energy
this godly-feeling
like I’m the most successful man of my time
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

8 Comments on “Man Of My Time”

  1. This works well and gives such an emphasis to the importance of our creative being.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Oh thanks, Nava… glad you feel that way about it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Success, in truth, begets further success.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Truth indeed

    Like

  5. I of July says:

    thanks dear, I appreciate it 🙂

    Like

  6. vivachange77 says:

    A perspective “anchored on a lust for universal love” is a wonderful thing. Keep on writing and believing you are a successful man. You are.

    Like

  7. I of July says:

    If you say that I am, then I should be that 🙂 you do crack me up – I like the sound of “lust for universal love”… pen to paper is as good as laughter – so a life long endeavour 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

