Ode to The Artist

just the other year
in Salford Quays, Manchester, England
me and Daniella were listening to 3121
there was nothing Teutonic about this particular German girl I tell ya!
she could have been the one

just the other day
down the Cape of Good Hope
autumn sunset by the sea shore, toffee apples in a glove
playing Love Symbol
she too, could have been the one

they came and were no sooner gone
than I was searching for yet another sweet soundtrack to soothe me along
the paths my love travels

but now I hear you too have departed
so I dedicate this, my dear Artist
independent black boy
you’ll forever inspire my cherished moments
and no one can ever destroy

and I sincerely hope the exercise of public opinion
which seems to increasingly expand into the truly religious feeling of social obligation doesn’t try to take away from what you stood up for – up to

so open yet only the 3rdeye can see
and your music keeps feeding my soul and shows me above all
that evolution is but the adaptation of old elements to new conditions

and to me you’ll always be one of those
eternal
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “Ode to The Artist”

  1. The fine-tuned innovative spirit, justifiably proud, whilst remaining grounded and humble, has arisen to his destiny. He has transcended 1999, and every year since, and will be the source of inspiration, for decades to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    1999 is one of my favourites too… Well said Humble Duke. All things true.

    Like

  3. None Other Then Hannah says:

    I enjoyed this! well done, great tribute

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Thanks Hannah, he’s legendary in my view. So all honour… and I have learned from it too, that all tales have in them an element of tribute

    Like


Leave a Reply

