Penman Ponders

when I’m gone
unknown, forgotten
perhaps a sentence I wrote
will remain memorable

so while this earth I’m still upon
I’ll strive to compose
not only poems that flow
but that quench appetencies of the soul

meant for your edification
and if not to provide some guidance
then at least to channel energy in a positive direction
like a penstock

even though I know I have more flaws
than any that dare to read this blog
and aware also that a sublunary mind will never know
the exhilaration of the imagination
nor the profusion of sublimation
and at best will entertain only perpetual pensiveness

I will still continue
because this is all I know
how to do without the burden of effort
but a love deeper than any I could ever show

and I hope this practice of poetic uproar
will not degenerate into only intrigue
bound to follow me to my black hole
when the light of life eventually goes off
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “Penman Ponders”

  1. I would debate personal demons all night but alas I must compliment some writer on his work!
    And the only demon I have is the one that stares back from the mirror

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Leo Anthony says:

    It is enough that this is what you know, what you do best. Keep penning, if only to quench the soul. I enjoy your stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    Well said HumbleOne

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    Thanks Leo, looking forward to checking out your work

    Like


Leave a Reply

