Shona Madonna ii

She said:
I think it’s time you marry, my son
for I dare not picture a moment
when you have to shoot yourself in the heart like George Eastman
that’s if the going ever gets too tough for you
especially if I, your mother and friend, am gone
and you decide and feel that your work too is done

because I know not what would stop you
if you have nothing to live for
and the time comes when you’re too frail and old
and can’t write with passion no more

O, how I wish soon you find that girl
who’ll give you children and hope
and provide you with greater purpose
than that you derive from your work and goals
now that you still have the sap of youth

and today you may not fully comprehend
the depth in meaning that you’ve brought to my life
but know this my child – that it’s the kind that keeps me alive to witness
you – the extension of my being
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

8 Comments on “Shona Madonna ii”

  1. This is the universal hope and prayer, of all mothers who are worthy of the name.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I’m starting to believe it 🙂 definitely my queen’s wish for me

    Like

  3. Yes, we (mothers) want to make sure that our child will not be alone and sad and hopeless when we will have to leave…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    that’s very noble… thanks for sharing your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

  5. vivachange77 says:

    The last stanza gets it right. I have three grown (married) sons and love each one like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    They are lucky to have you and I bet they appreciate you for wanting what you think is best for them too 🙂

    Like

  7. vivachange77 says:

    Thanks, Heath.I do feel appreciated. Your mother is lucky to have you for her son. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    Thanks dear, she says that but I’m the luckier one 🙂 … thanks for stopping by… have a lovely evening

    Like


Leave a Reply

