Beatitudes Bay iv

I was perplexed at her sudden appearance
It seemed slightly stalkerish
But there she stood, in front of me, by the entrance
Wearing a dress like something out of Hedi Slimane’s diary

“You’re a dangerous woman” I said

“You make me one” she responded

“Might as well come in, seeing as you’re already here”

“It’s only fair”

She handed me a bottle of Grand Siècle and a box of chocolate éclairs
I cleared manuscript sheets off the countertop by the bar in the lounge
Pulled out a chair, she sat, I went around… got the flutes
But before I could pop the bottle open, she said

“I don’t doubt it
I know you try to make every piece of writing congent
And your goals are as lofty as Illich’s – the educationist…
I’m also aware you’re a worldly man
And want to be as rich as Metternich
With more estates than you have time to visit…
All that I’m okay with
But I do have just one wish
That we marry and make this illicit… more legit
Because right now it seems we’re each serving our own interests…”
 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

4 Comments on “Beatitudes Bay iv”

  1. there’s a hauntingly good quality in this writing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    thanks, very kind of you… really appreciate it

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mariel1969 says:

    very inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Thanks Mariel, I’m glad 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

