Cold Comfort (v)

arrest an emotion
but release all devotion
as waves upon shore
before they recede into the ocean

because nothing is promised tomorrow
but if life’s opposing force makes available more days to borrow
then we shall find comfort in the extension of our union
on these fresh earthly grounds

but say you’ll let me
should I decide to leave after this night

and let there be no expectations but only hope
that we might…
 

Β© Heath Muchena, 2016

9 Comments on “Cold Comfort (v)”

  1. That’s a sweet read on a midnight high
    Major grade cool

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed bud πŸ™‚ big smiles… thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vivachange77 says:

    I like your rhyming. Open endedness has a certain peacefulness I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Always hope people catch the rhythm and that the arrangement allows them to, so it’s good to know you did, thanks… I don’t enjoy finalities because if we take away time then they don’t exist, glad you picked up on that, I quite like open endings and truthfully some of my treasured experiences have reflected a similar quality πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. vivachange77 says:

    I wonder if there are any finalities. Mine live on woven into the whole of my life. I love openings and new beginnings, too. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    I suppose we can decide on them. Woven into perfectly expresses it… definitely something we have in common.

    Like

  7. vivachange77 says:

    Affirmative – and thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. aak92 says:

    Nicely written.
    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. Check this link for it.
    https://aak92.wordpress.com/2016/06/18/liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I of July says:

    You’re so considerate, thank you so much. I however don’t accept or take part in awards… I am convinced there are many more much deserving but thanks again, I appreciate the thought

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

