Political Pen

Battles have always been the most thrilling interest generating spectacles
They activate our instinctive and irresistible impulse to indulge in incentive salience…

And as I imagine in silence
The changes occuring in our mesolimbic pathways and the cumulative effects from all the anticipation on our consciousness
I come to terms with my part in our collective addiction…

To fiction, to action, to passion
And so the Clinton-Trump debate I’ll be watching
Entertainment at its best
Just like a Mayweather fight at the MGM Grand…

The cheers, the boos
The shifts in perceptual cues
The promises and obscure pledges
The sways of fantasies
All that amazes…

But all judgements set aside
Because after it’s all said and done
It’s fair game in this world of anti-adhocracy…

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

7 Comments on “Political Pen”

  1. It was a fair fight, this evening. I would give HRC a slight TKO.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    It was a fair fight I agree but overall I’d give the w to DT because he did much better than most expected. Will have to see what happens in round 2 and 3.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cat9984 says:

    One more week before the die is cast. Then we may be wishing that the election had never happened. I already miss Barack Obama.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    US citizens really have some tough choices to make this time around. Will be observing from the sidelines with the rest of the world, but I think it’s safe to say either way it’ll be a landmark election in terms of giving insight into the evolution of global politics.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cat9984 says:

    What a polite way to say it. ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    🙂 the intricacies of ‘politics’ make it almost impossible for me personally to have any hard-line views or leanings but I do pay attention to world politics in general. However, my real interest is in political economy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. cat9984 says:

    We shall see.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

