Shona Madonna iii

As always, I sought the wisdom of my queen
And in that conversation with mother she said
Now that I’ve heard all you had to say, I’ll make judgement now, if I may

You see my son, there’s no denying you’ve always been smart, nay, brilliant from an early age
But don’t become a Nicodemus by asking the wrong questions – the likes of how can you be born again
Instead be patient and use that willingness to learn
In a way that can help you discern
So you’re not blinded like the Sanhedrin

And use more than just your brain
Find your faith, be that what it may, as long as it guides you towards noble ends
Because wonderful as it is to have the wealth of a Nicodemus ben Gurion
What will matter when life is no more and history sits atop the grave
Is the kind of man you were on land
Never air or subterranean

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

2 Comments on “Shona Madonna iii”

  1. vivachange77 says:

    Sound wisdom from your mother. This gives me things to ponder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I’m fortunate to have a mother who is also a thinker. We may not always share similar views but I can always trust her to be totally honest and sincere.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

