Open Ceilings

my fascination with life forces
in particular, what constitutes ambition
has always fuelled my interest
in the study of histories
and made me somewhat fanatical about contemporaries

and my conclusion after all the reading
is simply that it takes a great deal of energy and perseverance
to rise through the ranks and achieve status, power, or nobility
for those whose blood is not made from the royal alchemy

but should you be willing to work for it
then you too can be like Mervyn – Baron King of Lothbury
or better still, if you combine effort and skill with intuitive zeal
then you may soon enough be on a ride to the top in a Didi Chuxing
but only if you’re as driven as Jean Liu
or the woman simply better known as Liu Qing

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

6 Comments on “Open Ceilings”

  1. Susanne says:

    There was a lot to Google in this post but I learned who Liu Qing is and that Baron King of Lothbury is not one of the members of the Canterbury Tales but an actual, honest to goodness banker. What a treat!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Hi Susanne, thank you for taking time to read. I agree it may demand a little effort on the part of the reader to fully comprehend the piece, but I’m glad you thought it was worth it. Really appreciate your comment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cat9984 says:

    Not also a certain absence of scruples?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Please elaborate… I’m prone to making assumptions ☺

    Like

  5. cat9984 says:

    I think that in some cases people gain that type of elite position by being a little opportunistic in their relationships. That is “politics make strange bedfellows.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    A fair assessment. I’m a believer in beneficial relationships. One should never waste time with connections which don’t better… in one way or another. But of course with good intentions and without manipulation.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

