Mainstay Minutes iv

I know you have doubts
But time will fix that

And since life is a force to which you must adjust
For peace of mind’s sake, I sincerely hope you’ll have no regrets

And if I must speak for self, I’d just like to stress
That I’m past the point of youthful dreaming… still, this path I embrace

Henceforth, I set my own targets
Because in my line of work, my best is yet to manifest

So while they’re busy estimating my worth
And you, who lack faith, ponder if talent or not I possess

On my pages – another sentence
All for art’s sake… until my dues have been paid and a museum they erect for my pieces as though they were Arnault’s art acquisitions

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

2 Comments on “Mainstay Minutes iv”

  1. cat9984 says:

    It would be nice if serious writing were given the same adulation that popular writing is. (Or at least an acknowledgement that it exists.) Perhaps it is better over there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    I share the same sentiment however, writing still falls under entertainment and in that respect I guess ‘serious’ works aren’t what’s sought after when people want to be entertained. There are those who are able to explore serious content in forms more populist in nature but that’s a rare gift of genius. Also, I think culture is ever-changing and today it’s the base and boorish that’s dominating but who knows what direction tastes will turn towards once they’re surfeited with the nonsense. We can only hope ☺

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

