Gasoline gods VI

black gold money is plenty
on the clean waterside of Equatorial Guinea
where you find the Obiangs and unduly greedy…
talking foreign exchange over morning tea
their reality far removed from the struggles of the majority

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

10 Comments on “Gasoline gods VI”

  1. Two good friends of mine, one from Mexico and the other from Mauritius, first met in Malabo. They now live in Arizona and have raised three fine young people. Nothing to do with the familia Obiang, but EG’s common folk remain deep in my friends’ hearts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I of July says:

    Oh wow, another nice surprise, your travels are fascinating RighteousOne. It gives clues to why you’re such a cultivated gent ☺ Didn’t think you’d passed through places like Bioko. What’s great is you’re still exploring!

    Like

  3. vivachange77 says:

    Wonderful rhyming accompanies your interesting observation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Thank you dear, much appreciated ☺

    Like

  5. cat9984 says:

    I can usually get your allusions, but this one has me stumped.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I of July says:

    It’s a comment on the socio-political state of the country referenced. Perhaps I could have done a better job of getting that across. Thanks for noting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. cat9984 says:

    Ironically, about 10 hours after I left that message I read several things about our (hopefully not) next Secretary of State that clarified the reference (unfortunately)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I of July says:

    Oh yes, some interesting nominations. Goldman Sachs circles, hardline thinking types, some who in theory could be deemed qualified, a mixed bag of sorts. I suppose the citizen’s view is more critical than an outsider who to a degree is curious to see what this new shift means in an almost scientific way. But yes, plenty references to go around.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. cat9984 says:

    I think I’d be a little more comfortable if he had managed to find someone with a little political and/or diplomatic experience. But we shall see.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I of July says:

    Indeed, we’ll be observing. It should be an interesting if not eventful year ahead.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

