Chasing Carmen ii

I listened to her every word
Despite the noise in the room
I’ll admit it took some effort
To perfect the cocktail party effect
Still I kept thinking
I’ll get the hang of it pretty soon
And sure enough I did
Now that she had my complete attention

So as a gentle flower’s bloom
Our conversations matured
Beyond what our tongues could dissect
As if nature had sealed our fate
In order that we could experience such intimate feelings

But then soon after
I heard a bang… and again came the boom
The art of more had brought me much love indeed

Only to realise once we got separated
That she was everything I’d ever needed

And now it doesn’t even matter how many catch my eye
For it seems I’m forever chasing
Carmen

 

© Heath Muchena, 2016

Leave a Reply

