Davos Downhills

nearly all of life
to most of us
has been reduced to quixotic possibilities of happiness…
our purpose and the loftiest of intentions
encouraged by fanciful pursuits of gain
that our very natures have changed
as we continue to be incentivised
to acquire the little that remains
of all the capital already in the hands of a few…
forced to play a losing game
seeing as the failure to attain
our desired pecuniary advantages
only leaves us vulnerable to contempt
making life unbearable
and inflicting the ultimate torture
on our bodies and our brains

 

© Heath Muchena, 2017

8 Comments on “Davos Downhills”

  1. Very perceptive and sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vivachange77 says:

    Sad to ponder the emptiness of thinking money and entitlement is a prize.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    I don’t think it ought to be (sad i.e.). Truthful insight into human nature or the human condition should actually be freeing, but often we just see, not feel nor act. Perhaps because we are indifferent and self-absorbed. Therefore pity we surely deserve none, since no other animals have ever possessed the powers, abilities or will to create such as we do, and yet this state we choose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vivachange77 says:

    I see what you mean. I still can’t identify with it, probably because a life built around material things does not satisfy me. We may be talking about different ways of being.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I of July says:

    I totally understand where you’re coming from and I do agree. But those less privileged than we are could always argue it’s easier to idealise when you have basic necessities of life. I mean we do have access to the general comforts so we can always talk of being unmaterialistic. That’s why I like to focus on what is and not what could be since that always leaves room for other variables eg. we’d then need to define what constitutes materialism or excess. These things being dependent on an individual’s desires. I honestly think we all have a part to play in the perpetuity of our world’s miseries since greed is common to all, even if the degrees vary. But I think we are referring to a similar way of being which I believe is a state of negating excess, correct?

    Like

  6. vivachange77 says:

    Yes, a state of neglecting excess is spot on. I agree that I have the privilege of living a life free of material concerns. I have “enough” not to have to think much about money one way or another. I’m free to be simple.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I of July says:

    😀 love your commentary, always engaging

    Like

  8. vivachange77 says:

    Thanks. (I meant negating, not neglecting.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

