Journey back to Jacaranda iv

Hip hip hooray
The cronies sing
Happy 93
To president R.G.

I read in the papers today
How you think our young men have lost their way
For they continue to serve others
Instead of building their own

I have to admit that part really did hit home
Because when I look all around me I don’t see
A black man’s name on anything I call my own

Just yesterday mom messaged me
Son please come back home
Here you’ll find comfort
Support and a backbone

A fine roof over my head awaits
And for that I’m thankful
But the question is do I still believe
In a nation whose woes have made it almost impossible to be hopeful?

But then again, maybe she’s right
Gabriel the Great too
Because hope can only be lost when one gives up
And the contents of my magnum opus homeland lie therein

So my participation and contribution is needed now
Can’t wait for kingdom come
To push the country forward

Still, I’m hesitant
And somewhat disengaged
From the people and their stories

Mothers’ and fathers’ whose hearts were left torn
When children went away and were gone for far too long

In my case there’s no escape
For there, without doubt, is where I’m bound to discover
All the tales of illuminating glory

So I must journey back to jacaranda
To find soul, self, and purpose
At last

 

Heath Muchena, 2017

4 Comments on “Journey back to Jacaranda iv”

  1. Glad you went back to Zim, the would-be Centenarian President aside (Yes, I read where he wants to be the world’s first 100-year-old chief exec.) Your talents will help the land of jacaranda greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vivachange77 says:

    Powerful, Heath, and heart wrenching. 😦 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    100 year old chief exec huh, history 😱

    Like

  4. I of July says:

    Aww, my bad. Didn’t mean for it to be heart-wrenching but I’m pleased it evoked some emotion 😘

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

