A Theory of the Mortal Stock

lust, Sisyphean tasks, living life fast
all these activities I’ve seen many take part in

not because I concern myself too much with what anyone else does
but since I keep a watchful eye on all that crosses my path
such observations I’m bound to make, alas!

the past, social masks, feelings of mistrust between different casts
all these have been part and parcel of the lives of human beings since the beginning

to unsettle dust, to fight and fuss
the notions of them v us
acts of peace forsaking
everything aghast!

 

Heath Muchena, 2017

Leave a Reply

