Purpose vs Principle

I’m not in it for the loot…

say what you may, but make no excuse, money is a form of wealth, which at once can be converted to any use

but I’m really in this to find truth
and of course harvest the fruits that my labours produce

trust, that may be so
still, in truth there’s always an exchange nonetheless

… exchange for what, my creativity?

you see, exchangeable value is created from energy exerted into an effort
when utility is given to matter
so that it becomes wealth

but I’m not in it for the love of the loot

then I’m afraid you mistook purpose for principle

 

Heath Muchena, 2017

6 Comments on “Purpose vs Principle”

  1. Money for its own sake may defeat the “purpose,” but money is necessary for survival in our society. In spiritually-oriented texts, money is considered a form of energy. In my view, the value comes in how it is obtained and how it is spent. Hoarded wealth is a sign of insecurity and has less social value than cash flow for living expenses and maybe a few amenities. Example is Adam Smith’s assertion in “Wealth of Nations” that a penny buys a penny’s worth each time it changes hands. Over time, it can buy hundreds of dollars’ worth of goods and services and stimulate the common man’s economy more than the the most ambitious government programs.

    I support your addressing this issue. It seems we all have ambivalent feelings about money, especially now, when it so dominates social consciousness. Even a penny’s worth of effort buys lots of awareness, if it keeps ideas flowing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vivachange77 says:

    I like your take on money ultimately being a form of malleable wealth. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I of July says:

    Totally agree. Can’t add anything to that 😀 Thanks Kath, really appreciate your insightful contribution.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I of July says:

    Thanks Mme, hope you have a great weekend. 🌷

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Birds with broken wings and attitudes towards money both could use some healing. I wonder about the rush-rush mentality of our society. What’s our hurry? I think in terms of Oriental philosophy, the “qi” or life force that Western science ignores since it can’t measure it. A future blog.

    Thanks for your blogs, too. They are thought-provoking.

    Like

  6. I of July says:

    What’s our hurry? I wish I had an answer for that. Looking forward to reading more of your process commentary 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

